2018 Annual Members’ Show

(Pictured above: Preston Utley, Self )



JUNE 9 – JULY 14, 2018


Opening Reception + Award Ceremony with Juror: Saturday, June 9, 2018 (5 – 8 pm)

Closing Reception + Artist Talks: Saturday, July 14, 2018 (5 – 8 pm)

(Artists are invited to speak about their work at the closing reception.)


The Colorado Photographic Arts Center is proud to announce its 55th Annual Juried Members’ Show, a tradition that showcases the talents of CPAC’s core constituency and provides local artists with an important exhibition opportunity.

Juror Paula Tognarelli, Executive Director and Curator at the Griffin Museum of Photography, selected 32 photographs by 32 CPAC members for the exhibition. She also selected 19 additional artists for inclusion in CPAC’s Members’ Show catalog as a Special Mention subset. All together, the exhibition highlights works by 49 CPAC members selected from a pool of 116 artists that submitted 670 images. Thirty one of the 49 artists are from Colorado.

The public is invited to a free Opening Reception + Award Ceremony on Saturday, June 9 (5 – 8 pm), when Ms. Tognarelli will select and present the Best in Show award. The Best in Show winner will receive $300 and the selected image will be added to CPAC’s Permanent Collection. Ms. Tognarelli will also select one individual artist for a solo exhibition at the Griffin Museum of Photography, and present two Honorable Mention Awards. Finally, the Director’s Choice winner will receive a $50 gift card for Artifact Uprising, presented by CPAC Executive Director Samantha Johnston.

Best in Show: Molly McCall
Director’s Choice: Eleonora Ronconi
Honorable Mention: Melanie Walker
Honorable Mention: Jane Szabo
Solo Exhibition at the Griffin Museum: Melissa Lynn


Greg Aitkenhead, Yanika Anukulpun, Angela Faris Belt, Shannon Benine, John Bonath, Michael Campbell, Ron Cooper, Norm Diamond, Kellye Eisworth, Nicholas Fedak II, Diane Fenster, Brian Fouhy, Susan Goldstein, Richard Greene, Katie Kalkstein, Elsa Keefe, Melissa Lynn, Molly McCall, Mary Anne Mitchell, Jim Montague, Suzi Moore McGregor, Ernest Nitka, John O’Neill, Matthew Patterson, George P. Perez, Stephen Podrasky, Eleonora Ronconi, Breezy Sanchez, Wendi Schneider, Jane Szabo, Preston Utley, and Melanie Walker.


Raymond Bleesz, Thomas Carr, Lorraine Castillo, Natalie Christensen, Ron Cooper, Matthew DeFeo, Saman Genshin, Carole Goodwin, Kevin Hoth, Paul Jett, Brian Johnson, Karen Klinedinst, Peter Kowalchuk, Eric Kunsman, Marni Myers, Neal Pierman, Donald Stark, and Julia Vandenoever.



Juror’s Statement

Sifting through photography submissions as they present themselves is second nature for a juror. The exploring is satisfying no matter how substantial the pool may be. There are those photographs that bubble to the top and resonate and it is usually always so many more than the allocation. This culling of favorites can be heartbreaking. The highs and lows however are part and parcel of a juror’s involvement.

Each time I jury I am struck by what artists are thinking and what comes through in a collection of work. Photographers are out in the global ether working alone and often many sky miles apart unaware of what others are readying to submit to a juried opportunity. Yet it is so frequent that similar themes, elements, and geometries echo a parallel experience. It is as if a third kind of close encounter were at play. In any case, I believe in the creative connective and jury with this in mind.

My gratitude goes to all who submitted to this call. A special thank you goes to Samantha Johnston who trusted me with CPAC’s annual exhibition. It is my hope the audience visits with each of these thirty-two photographers many times over while these artists inhabit the gallery.

Paula Tognarelli, Executive Director and Curator
Griffin Museum of Photography

About Paula Tognarelli

Paula Tognarelli is the Executive Director and Curator at the Griffin Museum of Photography. Located in Winchester outside Boston, Massachusetts, the Griffin is a nonprofit photography museum whose mission is to promote an appreciation of photographic art and a broader understanding of its visual, emotional and social impact. The museum houses 3 galleries and maintains 3 satellite gallery spaces and several virtual on-line galleries as well.

Ms. Tognarelli is responsible for producing over 54 exhibitions a year at the Griffin and its surrounding satellite and online gallery spaces. She holds an MS in Arts Administration from Boston University, a BA from Regis College, is a graduate of the New England School of Photography, and is a candidate for her Masters in Education at Lesley University.


Click link below to buy. Copies also available to purchase at CPAC