Trapped, © Lucy Testerman

Gen Z: Responses to 2020

Trapped © Lucy Testerman


Responses to 2020

Virtual Gallery

MARCH 1 – MARCH 31, 2021

Virtual Opening Reception: March 11, 2021 @ 5:00 PM (MST)

To celebrate the 2021 Month of Photography Denver Festival (MOP), the Colorado Photographic Arts Center (CPAC) invited Colorado high school photography students to enter a juried virtual exhibit in response to the year 2020. The theme: 2020 has been a challenging year marked by a global pandemic, widespread protests against racial inequality, and one of the most divisive elections in modern history. We wanted to showcase students’ perspectives of the past year. For this call 248 students submitted work and the jurors selected 33 images for the online exhibition.

Jurors: Samantha Johnston, Executive Director & Curator, CPAC; Anthony Camera, Photographer; and Mark Sink, Photographer, MOP Founder.

We would also like to thank Dr. Alexandra Overby, Denver East High School Senior Team Lead Visual Art, for assisting with this exhibition.

Award Winners

Best in Show:

Maggie Poe, Poudre School District Virtual (PSDV)

Honorable Mentions:

Riley Meikle, Northfield HS
Peyton Fritchie, D’Evelyn Jr./Sr. HS
Brittany Weeks, Eaglecrest

Mark Sink Juror’s Award for Big Picture:

Claire Miller, Northfield HS
Jaylene Martinez, Longmont HS
Da’quaryin Wheeler, Eaglecrest

Additional Photographers

Maya Allen – East HS
Anika Dragan – Fort Collins HS
Jordynn Duffy – Columbine HS
Cayman Fine – Fort Collins HS
Ian Freestone – Fort Collins HS
Allan Issac Gonzalez Venegas – Mountain Range HS
Cale Hall – Chatfield
Farah Hasan – Denver Academy
Maddie Hemsley – Pine Creek HS

Mariah Hewitson – Eaglecrest
Natti Jaraschatrkaew – Peak to Peak Charter School
Aida Kerzee – Chatfield
Elaina Lyons – Northfield HS
Corben Macy – Fort Collins HS
Jada Marsh – Northglenn HS
Kate Mayes – Fort Collins HS
Orlando Ortiz – Fort Collins HS
Arlene Ortiz-Gallardo – Mountain Range HS

Christopher Pacheco – Legacy HS
Vanessa Quiroga – Gateway HS
Nikiah Ray – Eaglecrest
Jesimae Rojas – Fort Collins HS
Gabriel Schneider – Grandview HS
Lucy Testerman – Chatfield
Maia Tisdel – Northfield HS
Sam Wheeler – Columbine HS

Click any image below to view photographer’s name and title of work.

A huge thank you to our award sponsors Englewood Camera and Freestyle Photographic