Veterans Workshop Series

Launched by CPAC and our partners in 2017, the Veterans Workshop Series provides advanced photographic education to Denver-area military Veterans, free of charge.


Over 5 months of workshops and one-on-one mentoring sessions, participants learn to refine technical skills, hone ideas into a body of work, create a portfolio, write about their work, and present their projects to the community in a public exhibition at CPAC’s gallery.


The program includes training in digital editing software; composition, lighting, and design; marketing; portfolio development; preparing for an exhibition; and much more. Courses are taught by established artists and leaders in Denver’s photography community. The program was developed in partnership with local veteran-led organizations including Art of War Project and Task Force ISO.


After completing the program, students can enter the professional fine art photography world, develop a photographic business, or further their artistic practice at an advanced level. Graduates have gone on to sell work, attend professional portfolio reviews, and exhibit at local galleries.


If you are a U.S. military Veteran with a passion for photography, we strongly encourage you to apply for the 2023 program. The deadline to submit applications is May 16, 2023. Apply today!



A Different Perspective – Personal Projects by Veterans
Jan. 13 – Feb. 11, 2023
Featuring Rich Cancellare, Maggie Cubbler, Aaron Middleton, Eleanor Nesim, and Keal Vigil

Untitled design

Relational Ground – Personal Projects by Veterans
Jan. 14 – Feb. 12, 2022
Featuring Richard Caldwell, Clifford Carter, John Dianni, Todd Fichtemaier, Amy Gamm, Maureen Hanrahan, YAh Kadesh, Mike Teubner, and Devon Wiggers

Working on Me, © Jess Bidwell

Vantage Point – Personal Projects by Veterans
Jan. 8 – Feb. 13, 2021
Featuring Michael Benton, Jess Bidwell, Ronald Cable, Bob Looser, Lee Ann Montoya, Andrew Morris, Charles Peters, Lourdes Sanchez Wise, Don Stine, and Brandon Tennery


The Subjective Lens – Through the Eyes of Veterans
Jan. 10 – Feb. 15, 2020
Featuring Tom Arnold, Michael Ciavatta, Hank Fanelli, Raymond McCoy, Marie Miller
Yvens Alex Saintil, Adrienne Sommers, Carl Steitz, Tony Taylor and Cypriane Williams

©Chuck Rasco, Red Feather Milky Way

Personal Visions: Projects by Veterans
Jan. 11 – Feb. 9, 2019
Featuring Amy Forestieri, Donald M. Gardner, Elane Graves, Gregory Hall and Chuck Rasco

Deer at the Crossroads by Wayne Gortmaker

Internal Narratives: Projects by Veterans
Nov. 11 – Dec. 30, 2017
Featuring Tylor Belshe, Skip Bethurum, Corina Cavaness, Cath Colwell, Wayne Gortmaker, Amber Hotzfeld, Marla Keown, Jeff Mallo, Joe McDonald, and Darren Schultz

Thank You

The Veterans Workshop Series would not be possible without support from:

JPMorgan Chase
prevent and prevail logo
digital silver imaging logo
Metropolitan Frame Company